September 27, 2022

Samia announces new album, Honey, releases lead single & music video, “Kill Her Freak Out”

Honey, the new album from Samia, is coming January 27th, 2023.

Recorded in the woods of North Carolina with her dearest friends, it’s a celebration of community, the dreams that tether us together & the lenses through which we view the world. It’s a more self-assured and bold step beyond the coming of age stories of The Baby & Scout. Downright intimidating in its confidence. And we can’t wait for you to hear it.

The first single was released today. “Kill Her Freak Out” is an instant-add to a canon including tearjerkers like “Milk,” “Pool,” & “Django.” It’s a song from the end of a rope, Samia at her most musically spare and lyrically exasperated. The music video, embedded above, was directed alongside Muriel Margaret and features Academy Award nominee and Golden Globe winner, Lucas Hedges.

Pre-orders for the album are available now. Honey features two distinct sequences – one for continuous play on digital & CD and one for a side break listening experience on vinyl and cassette. The vinyl features its own unique mix and master tailored to the LP experience, while the album will also be available on Apple Music & other retailers in Dolby Atmos/Spatial Audio.

The first pressing of the standard edition 12″ comes on honey yellow vinyl. Deluxe edition 180g gatefold copies of the record are available on pink & black swirl at Samia’s webstore and Bandcamp — each comes with a limited edition flexi disc of Samia covering “Country” by Porches. Meanwhile, indie record shops are carrying a translucent blue version of the album, and Rough Trade US & UK has a limited edition magenta LP — both including a limited edition flexi disc of Samia covering Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ “Maps.” The album is also available on cassette and CD with a 16 page lyric booklet.  

Digital & CD Tracklist:
01 Kill Her Freak Out
02 Charm You
03 Pink Balloon
04 Mad At Me
05 Sea Lions
06 To Me It Was
07 Breathing Song
08 Honey
09 Nanana
10 Amelia
11 Dream Song

Vinyl & Cassette Tracklist:
A1 Kill Her Freak Out
A2 Charm You
A3 Pink Balloon
A4 Mad At Me
A5 Sea Lions
A6 Amelia
B1 Breathing Song
B2 Honey
B3 Nanana
B4 To Me It Was
B5 Dream Song

Last but certainly not least, Samia has announced a massive US tour set to kick off in February of next year. Support across the run comes from Tommy Lefroy. The dates arrive only a few short months after Samia supports Maggie Rogers across Europe & the UK in November, also stopping for a sold-out headline show in London at XOYO and an appearance alongside Courtney Barnett at Roundhouse for Pitchfork London.